Change and Safety

As the second term comes to a close the horse show season is kicking off. While i started with horses first term and the topic soon ran dry (I think because of my lack of showing) I am going to pick this topic up again.

This post is going to be about something that is very important. Safety. This past weekend i went to a horse show in Winnona, MN. The first night I was there after practicing I went to go wash my horses tail and white legs ( for Show man ship the next day) and the hose that was attached to the wall was screwed on tightly but incorrectly which caused it to spray water out. This may not seem like a big deal to me at the time but now it is something I will be sure to be careful of in the future. After shampooing his tail I went to go turn off the water and it sprayed out and scared my horse. He reared up and landed on my foot and was really freaked out so he pulled back, pushing all hie weight on his front feet, and on my foot. I have been stepped on many horses before from babies to huge halter horses and it didn’t seem any different. But, it was. When I got  back to the hotel after turning off the shower and trying to step out of the shower I could put any weight on my foot without excruciating pain. It also had blown up like a balloon. The picture is bellow. The next morning i couldn’t bear to put any weight on it all and was not able to show. We were going to go to the Doctor but a friend of ours who shows as well was there and looked at it. He said that it was broken in 4 places and that we could go get x-rays but that it would be a waste. He ended up going with my dad to get a boot and wrote me a prescription for the pain. When you think broken foot you think it is going to be really painful but in all honestly it doesn’t really hurt too bad. Ether that or I have gotten used to the pain. The reason I am telling you this story is because people make comments all the time about how dangerous horses are and how they are too big and how you shouldn’t have kids around them You might be thinking, why did she tell me this because it is making me think horses are dangerous. I have another story too. My little sister was playing kick ball in the back yard and broke her arm in three places. When people say horses are dangerous I respond by saying so are cars. So is walking. SO are dogs. In any sport you have the risk of getting hurt no matter if you are dealing with a 1200 pound animal or not.   This is a link from Stacy Westfall’s blog. My favorite line is….

“Horses can be dangerous but there are ways that we can make them safer including educating both the horse and the rider and by simply being aware.” Please read and enjoy.

http://stacywestfallhorseblog.com/2014/07/26/how-dangerous-are-horses-injuries-accidents-and-ranking-against-other-sports/

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Leave a Reply

